Are you interested in serving on HomeWorks' board of directors?

Are you interested in serving on HomeWorks' board of directors?

Save the Date: District Meeting Schedule

All 3 incumbent directors will retire in 2016

Philip Conklin, Cara Evans, and Dean Floria have announced they will not seek re-election to HomeWorks Tri-County Electric's board of directors this year.

Conklin, who represents Eaton, Ingham, and Jackson counties in District 1, was first elected to the board in 1989. Evans was first elected in 1986 to represent District 5, which includes Gratiot and Saginaw counties, along with parts of Clinton and Montcalm counties. Floria was appointed to the board in 1996, to fill the District 7 seat serving Mecosta and Osceola counties after the sudden death of director Bill Chapin, and has won re-election each term since then.

The nominating committee in each district consists of the district's officers (listed on this page), elected by members at the district meeting in May. Each committee is required by the co-op's bylaws to nominate at least one candidate on or before March 15. Candidates may also be nominated with a petition signed by at least 25 members from within the district. Petitions must be turned in by April 5. Names of nominees will be posted at the cooperative's offices by April 10.

Who Makes Up District Nominating Committees?

Nominating committees are comprised of the district officers, elected by members at the previous year's district meeting.

District 1: Eaton, Ingham, and Jackson counties

Patricia Zimmerman, Chair

1885 Flanders Rd.

Charlotte MI 48813


email: pattyez at

Miner Roth (Grand Ledge), Vice Chair

Drouscella Halsey (Charlotte), Secretary

District 5: Gratiot and Saginaw counties, plus Bingham, Duplain, and Greenbush townships in Clinton County, and Bloomer, Crystal, and Evergreen townships in Montcalm County

Carl Bornemann, Chair

7560 Woodbridge Rd.

Ashley MI 48806


Reginald Stevens (St. Johns), Vice Chair

Corinna Batora (Elsie), Secretary

District 7: Mecosta and Osceola counties

Jean Chapin, Chair

6240 5 Mile Rd.

Blanchard MI 49310


Don Passolt (Hersey), Vice Chair

Connie Gibson (Evart), Secretary

Interested in Seeking a Board Seat?

If you're interested in running for a HomeWorks board seat yourself, Article VII, Section 2 of the cooperative's bylaws states you must be an individual member of the cooperative in good standing, at least 21 years old, residing in the district which you are to represent, and a U.S. citizen.

To become or remain a director, the bylaws continue, the candidate must have the capacity to enter into legally binding contracts; comply with standards of conduct as laid out in the bylaws; and meet all reasonable conflict of interest qualifications found in Article VII, Section 3.

Also, within the 10 years immediately prior to becoming a director, a candidate shall not have been convicted of or pled guilty to a felony or misdemeanor crime involving issues of moral character.

For a copy of the bylaws, please click here. You can download a PDF file by clicking on the fourth bullet under About My Co-op.

To learn more, you can also download PDF files of Board Policy 102 - "Functions of the Board"; and the "Suggested Statement of Qualifications for a Director," which is an appendix to Board Policy 106 - "Director Replacement."

If you meet these qualifications and would like to be nominated, contact your district nominating committee, listed above, or call HomeWorks Tri-County Electric at 517-647-1211 for a nominating petition.

Page Features: 

Together We Save